Farming MSP

MSP committee at its first meeting discussed key issues, SKM absent

MSP committee at its first meeting discussed many key issues, SKM absent

MSP committee at its first meeting discussed many key issues, SKM was absent.

At its first meeting on Monday, the Minimum Support Price (MSP) committee discussed many things, including how to make MSP ‘more effective and transparent.’ However, Samyukta Kisan Morcha (SKM) was not present.

The committee, which was led by former Agriculture Secretary Sanjay Agrawal, spoke about how to ‘promote zero-budget farming,’ ‘change’ crop patterns to meet the changing needs of the country, and make MSP more ‘effective and transparent.’

There are 26 people on the committee, including the chairman, and three members’ slots have been set aside for SKM representatives. Also Read | First meeting of the MSP committee will have on August 22 to discuss future plans.

‘There was a presentation on three topics that the committee needs to look into and make suggestions about. What needs to be done and how, which state government has done it best so far, and the successful models and lessons learned — all of these things were talked about’ Binod Anand, who is a member of the committee, told PTI (Press Trust of India).

Anand, who is the general secretary of the farmers’ group CNRI, said that SKM representatives were not at the meeting, which lasted for a whole day. Ramesh, who is part of the Niti Aayog, was also not there because he had other plans.

This committee was set up because SKM led a protest by farmers against three farm laws on July 18 and forced the government to get rid of them. SKM has already rejected this committee and decided not to choose its representatives.

In November of last year, when Prime Minister Narendra Modi said that three farm laws would be thrown out, he also said that he would set up a committee to look into MSP issues for farmers.

Agri-economists CSC Shekhar and Sukhpal Singh from the Indian Institute of Economic Development and IIM-Ahmedabad, as well as Naveen P. Singh, a senior member of the Commission for Agricultural Costs and Prices (CACP), also attended the meeting.

Also Read | Samyukta Kisan Morcha rejects the MSP committee formed by the government.

Farmers like Gunwant Patil, Krishnaveer Choudhary, Pramod Kumar Choudhary, Guni Prakash, and Sayyed Pasha Patel were there to represent farmers. Bharat Bhushan Tyagi, who won a national award, was also there. Dilip Sanghani, who is the head of IFFCO, was there.

At the meeting were also senior members of agricultural universities, secretaries from the central government, and the chief secretaries of Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim, and Odisha. PTI LUX HVA

About the author


Agri News India’s ultimate agricultural news portal is dedicated to providing the farming fraternity with the latest Agri and related sector news. We believe that the power of information can transform the farming sector.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Knowledge Share

Agri Academy

Agri Mock test, MCQ Agri-Economics, for UPSC/UGC NET/ASRB NET/NABARD/SRF/JRF/KSET/SO/ Competitive Exams